April 13, 2024

“The Alma Mater and Alma Lux are traditional honors bestowed upon junior students who possess qualities of leadership, scholarship and service,” Executive Assistant of Student Development Angie Fairbanks said. “These are the highest honors given to Wittenberg students.”

Each year five men and five women junior class members are chosen as finalists for these honors.

This year’s nominees are:

Rachael Fink

Fink (pictured above) is from Wickliffe, Ohio and is a triple major in Russian/Central Eurasian Studies, international studies and French with a minor in Russian. She is Vice-President for Common Ground, was a two-year Resident Advisor and is involved in Dance and Theatre. She also is a member of Alpha Lambda Delta, Ivy Ring, Kappa Delta, Newman Club, Pick-n-Pen and Operation K.

Lauren Geraci

Geraci is from Hamilton, Ohio and majors in political science and minors in communication and philosophy. She is an Admissions Tour Guide, SPARK Coordinator, a member of Alpha Lambda Delta, Class Cabinet, Emerging Leaders, Pi Sigma Alpha, Pick-n-Pen, Resident Advisor, Community Advisor, Student Leader Fellowship, Union Board and Wittenberg College Democrats.

Payton Hurl

Hurl is from Pataskala, Ohio with a major in biology and minor in health science. She is a peer mentor, member of Alpha Lambda Delta, Beta Beta Beta, Gamma Phi Beta, PanHellenic Council and Union Board.

Ally Peebles

Peebles is from Mason, Ohio with a major in biology as well as minors in chemistry and music. She is an Orientation Assistant, member of Alpha Lambda Delta, Alpha Phi Omega, Delta Gamma, Ivy Ring, Jewish Culture Club, Just Eve, Pre Health Professions Club and Wittenberg Choir.

Vanessa Orduna Zarazua

Orduna Zarazua is from Columbus, Ohio with a major in political science and minor in management. She is Junior Class President, an Orientation Assistant, a member of Gamma Phi Beta, Student Senate, Mock Trial and Union Board.

Ross Angelo

Angelo is from Bellefontaine, Ohio and is a double major in sports management and business management with a minor in communication. He is secretary of the Ice Hockey Club, a member of Chi Alpha Sigma, Class Cabinet, Emerging Leaders, President Interfraternity Council, Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Psi, Pick-n-Pen, Security Advisory Committee, the Wittenberg soccer team and C.A.B.L.E.

Alexander O’Connor

O’Connor is from Miamisburg, Ohio and is a music education major with a mathematics minor. He is Student Center Manager and Symphonic Band Manager. O’Connor is also a member of Emerging Leaders, Phi Eta Sigma, Ohio Collegiate Music Educators Association and Tiger Pep Band.

Cameron Dobrotka

Dobrotka is from Elmhurst, Illinois with a major in biology and minor in business.  He is Junior Class Vice President, a Truman Scholarship Nominee, a member of Beta Beta Beta, Class Cabinet, Emerging Leaders, Ice Hockey Club, Leadership Academy, Mock Trial, Phi Eta Sigma, Promise Neighborhood, Student Leader Fellowship, Union Board, Witt Honors Program, Education Policies Committee Student Representative, Wittenberg lacrosse team, and an Orientation Assistant.

Ryan Probst

Probst is from Mason, Ohio with a major in mathematics and minor in business. He is an Orientation Assistant, a member of Class Cabinet, Emerging Leaders, Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Psi, Student Athlete Advisory Council and the Wittenberg baseball team.

Hai Vo

Vo is a computer science major from Pleiku, Vietnam.  He is a member of Alpha Phi Omega, American International Association, Emerging Leaders, Lambda Chi Alpha, an Orientation Assistant, Phi Eta Sigma, a Resident Advisor, Phi Beta Kappa and a Lead Orientation Assistant.

Make sure to cast votes March 26 during the campus wide election for The Class of 2020 Alma Mater and Alma Lux; the results will be shared April 5 at the Honors Convocation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *